Welcome to the Connecticut Z Car Club Forums

Username:  
Password:  
Log me on automatically each visit
Register 
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 10:00 am
Welcome to the Connecticut Z Car Club Discussion Forums   
If you have trouble logging in or encounter any issues, please send an email to webmaster@ctzcc.com.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
 Post subject: clutch master cylinder
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:07 pm 

I am finally getting the time to replace the clutch master cylinder and slave cylinder on my 72 240z, I am hoping this will fix my problem. This is my first attempt, I was hoping someone may have some suggestions and advice. It looks pretty straight forward but all the info I can get before hand will be helpful. I believe the system will need to be bled after installation? Thank you.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:25 am 

I have not gone through this process before, but you definitely have to bleed the system after the new parts are installed.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 8:32 am 

What are the problems being experienced?

-Chris

Post subject: Clutch Master
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:15 am 

I've replaced both master and slave (slave twice) over my 71 Z's life. This is a pretty straigh forward process and pretty easy to d :) o.

Be careful not to spill any fuid on your paint.

Bleeding will be required. Have buddy pump clutch pedal as you open and close bleeder valve on slave cylinder.

I find that periodic bleeding of brakes and clutch really help extend the l;ife of the cylinders. Remember, brake fluid is hydroscopic (absorbs water) so use fresh fluid and bleed once evry 2 years or so.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:04 am 

Jeff, of all the projects you could have choZen to DIY, this is probably among the easiest....not saying nothing could go wrong.