Welcome to the Connecticut Z Car Club Forums

Username:  
Password:  
Log me on automatically each visit
Register 
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 2:55 pm
Welcome to the Connecticut Z Car Club Discussion Forums   
If you have trouble logging in or encounter any issues, please send an email to webmaster@ctzcc.com.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 9:58 am 

For my winter project I planned on changing my clutch out to a new version. I've been using a Centerforce 2 for several months but its slow to release at redline and I don’t like the slower shifting action (its fine at normal speeds). In the past I used the inexpensive Perfection Zoom clutch with great results so I decided to switch back.

THE PLAN: I have a new stock 240mm (turbo/2+2) flywheel and toyed with the idea of having it lightened by Top End Performance to about 16lbs.

The result is that I would have a 240mm lightened flywheel with the extra holding power of the Nissan turbo clutch/pressureplate. In the past though I noticed the 2+2 pressure plate seemed heavier than the coupes’ when changing the clutch. So I emailed Perfection and asked them the weight of their clutches.

MU47732-1A (turbo 240mm) WEIGHT IS 18.72 LBS
MU47594-1A (coupe 225mm) WEIGHT IS 14.76 LBS

So while the stock flywheels are the same at about 23 lbs, the extra weight of the turbo pressure plate assembly seems to negate using the turbo version if you’re seeking light weight. I didn’t ask them the weight of the 2+2 clutch but I would expect a similar weight increase. Interesting.

1970 240Z - enhanced F54 L28 w/P90, Weber DCOEs, 4:11 R200, Nissan T5 5-speed

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:59 am