Welcome to the Connecticut Z Car Club Forums

Username:  
Password:  
Log me on automatically each visit
Register 
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 5:30 am
Welcome to the Connecticut Z Car Club Discussion Forums   
If you have trouble logging in or encounter any issues, please send an email to webmaster@ctzcc.com.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:34 pm 
Hello everyone. My name is Eugene and I am starting my research into the early z cars and what il need to start off and get going and what the cost will be. I come from having a 91 toyota mr2 with a t3/t4 turbo etc. I am a backyard mechanic but have access to a shop to use the lift, air compressor, paint gun, and have experience with doing a motor swap on the mr2.
I found out quickly that emission testing is tough to get around, and the Z is really the only older vehicle which i admire the looks of that will be exempt. My plans are to do an l28et turbo engine with 5 speed trans with r200 lsd. I think those are the correct terms. I also would like to know what the name of either of these "front air dams" in these pics are:
http://lh5.ggpht.com/_7G4xOBWkNEw/Su2rV ... C_5431.JPG
http://lh6.ggpht.com/_7G4xOBWkNEw/Su2rF ... C_5424.JPG
(is that a cf hood?)
http://lh5.ggpht.com/_7G4xOBWkNEw/Su2rQ ... C_5429.JPG
http://lh3.ggpht.com/_7G4xOBWkNEw/Su2vk ... C_5571.JPG

If anyone knows any good sites to shop for body parts or L28 performance parts please let me know. I really admire those cars I posted and would like to do a variation of them with my own custom additions. Im looking to pickup the actual project car early next year and start work quickly to get it running for summer.
Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:41 pm 

No6th,

Welcome, please tell us more about yourself, where are you located? We have several members who have been down the modified 240z route and will have plenty of handy advice before and during your project.

Phil