Welcome to the Connecticut Z Car Club Forums

Username:  
Password:  
Log me on automatically each visit
Register 
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:30 am
Welcome to the Connecticut Z Car Club Discussion Forums   
If you have trouble logging in or encounter any issues, please send an email to webmaster@ctzcc.com.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
 Post subject: another newbie
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:58 pm 

hey Z lovers I'm Joe from Redding Ct...I always loved the Z, and now I finally have one..It's used, bought at the old Bob sharp motors..(now bruce bennett)..2005 grand touring roadster..I'm still teaching the wife how to drive it..(mistake?)..It's in excellant shape..I'm an electrician..But I know nothing about cars except how to pump the gas...one question I have and I figures I'd ask the pro's..Is what kind of wax should i use on the clear coat.?..And what do I use to treat the leather.?..everything is perfect on it now, and I want to keep it that way... :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:14 am 

Hey Joe,
Glad to have you aboard! I use Mother's Caranuba wax but admittedly, I'm not the most proficient detailer out there. Looking forward to meeting you and your Z in person. Ross

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:21 pm 

well if you REALLY wanted to bring out the shine, I recently used 3M rubbing compound and 3M Hand Glaze first. It may not look the best (because this is the first time I painted a car), but that's not a fault of the product. In fact I'd say I owe it to 3M for helping my make it look as good as it does . :lol:

I'm also trying out this Eagle 1 "Nanowax" that someone gave me for Christmas. It claims to use nanotechnology to make a better wax that fills scratches better.... but I'm pretty sure that its snake oil. Seems to make the car shine though...

-Chris

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:14 pm